Kilkenny and Money...

County Kilkenny is located towards the centre of Ireland. Ireland is part of the European single currency the Euro. Each euro is made up of 100 cents. There are 7 euro notes 500, 200, 100, 50, 20, 10 & 5. Each is a different colour and size. There are 8 different coin denominations 2 and 1 euros then 50, 20, 10, 5, 2, and 1 cent coins.

These coins feature a common European design on one face and a country specific design on the other. In Irelands case the Irish Harp.

Euro notes and coins can be used in each of the fifteen member states, Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Spain, and Holland.

Credit and Debit cards are widely used in Ireland, most ATMís are members of either the plus or cirrus networks so you should have no trouble withdrawing cash. It is important to be aware that especially in the west cash tends to be the medium of choice for transactions and ATMís are often in relatively short supply in rural areas.

Travellers cheques are a very safe way to carry money and are widely accepted.

area1   -   area2   -   area3   -   area4   -   area5   -